What do I do? Experience, learn, share and teach.

Workplaces can be a reflection of societal opportunities and strengths. Helpful and difficult people work side by side. They can sometimes be places of conflict and stress.

In an earlier post I wrote, I spoke about my studies in change management and the act of fast and slow thinking. It shows how decisions in the workplace are often made too quickly. This process applies to management, colleagues or contractors.

So I used social media to show this process in action.

I made a post on my Instagram about Pluto Pups, Corn Dogs or Dagwood Dogs.

These festival or carnival yummy little unhealthy sausage treats are called different things across the world. I call them Pluto Pups. So Pluto Pup is MY correct answer.

I took a survey to see what they were called to different people. ‘Stinky Dog’ was a joke answer I made up, to be honest. I’m sure many of you have seen managers at work with similar approaches to a work task. Random decisions made without logical sense used.

Voting gradually changed the result. However, I’d decided to be like many senior staff in workplaces. From the outset of the survey, Pluto Pup was always the correct answer.

What does that mean? I selected the winner who won the most votes? Didn’t I?

I chose the winner to be the name I felt was correct. I didn’t use analysis, data or any other clear and concise research to make a conclusion.

I jumped to my own decision.

In my life, this has been the sad reality that many senior staff have shown me at work. It is one of the biggest lessons I’ve learnt of how not to act. While I accept fast decisions are needed, try your best to engage others and seek good research before you make a conclusion.

Many work managers make decisions with quick and fast assumptions. Decisions like this can be made with no reasoning behind it. It can be the decision a person with senior authority makes. They decide it. The end.

I did this to show how we should approach life. We should seek knowledge and guidance, through evidence. ☺️🧾

Evidence and experience can hold the key to a successful life and a better approach to tasks. This may be at work, socially or with family.

Don’t assume to get an answer. Learn to decide an answer. Knowledge is the key to being content and happy. Assumptive attitudes create anxiety for you and others.

Experience, learn, share and teach.

By the way, it’s called a PLUTO PUP. THE END.

Published by Paul - Brain Injured and Traveller in one.

The World is an amazing place filled with adventure, awe and excitement. As a child I dreamt that I would see every country, every crevice of the globe. And now? Now I continue to fulfil that dream...I would like to share that journey with you in some small part...

Leave a comment