Talihau, Vava’u – 5 January 2009

We are now playing catch up, since my other friends landed, it has been too difficult to find time or be bothered writing.

So on the 29th we arrived back in Nuku’alofa. On the ferry we met one of the three staff at the Australian High Commission here in Tonga. She has my future job! HAHA, we spoke about the country and a few other posts she had been part of in Malaysia and elsewhere. It was an interesting conversation and made me further eager to pursue a government job overseas.

When we landed at Queen Salote Wharf our friend’s sister was already there waiting for us. We drove back to her home and lazed around for the early afternoon (we had arrived back at 4:30). Then it was off to the airport to pick up those friends I mentioned.

On our approach to the International Terminal all the electricity went out for a few moments, it was funny! They appeared with a trolly jampacked full of the extra things that my friend’s mum had given her to bring. In the car ride back to the house we caught up and spoke about what had occurred over the new year period. As usual my roommate (one of the friends) allowed a random to pass out in my bed, some things will never change.

Back at the house we drank a nice bottle of vodka, spending the majority of our time laughing and sitting in the front carport. We eventually turned to bed at about 5am on the morning of the 30th.

(mysterious part from a friend about life, and will be in future posts, so shhhhhhhhhh :P)

As you can see from the above section there is much that this journal has missed. These things I will explain in all due course.

So, back to the 30th. We woke up just after 10 and realised that there was indeed a lack of fresh water to drown our hangovers and a lack of tap water to wash the hangovers dirt away.

Once awake we went to see my friend’s niece at her grandmother’s house. She was really excited to see my friend. We then drove to the book store as I continued my search for William Mariner’s tale of Pre-christian Tonga. Alas, it appears to be a very difficult book to find and today I will be trying again to look for it in Neiafu. Instead I found a book about Foreign Policy focusing on the European Union and one about a child growing up in North Korea. After all that it was time to head to the domestic airport and prepare for our journey to Vava’u.

At the airport there was no electricity on that day, so there were very limited options (if any) in the way of food.

Published by Paul - Brain Injured and Traveller in one.

The World is an amazing place filled with adventure, awe and excitement. As a child I dreamt that I would see every country, every crevice of the globe. And now? Now I continue to fulfil that dream...I would like to share that journey with you in some small part...

Leave a comment